ANNEXURE-III

AUTONOMOUS COUNCILS UNDER SIXTH SCHEDULE IN NORTH EAST INDIA

The Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India provides for special provision for the administration of Hills tribal areas of the North Eastern States of Assam, Meghalaya, Mizoram and Tripura. Under the provision of the 6th Schedule of the Indian Constitution these tribal areas are to be administered as autonomous district council which will function under the executive authority of the state concerned but has power of certain legislative and judicial functions. The existence of autonomous councils with enhanced autonomy and powers to administer such areas makes it different from the arrangement provided for the other areas of the country under the 5th Schedule.

The autonomous councils under the provisions of the Sixth Scheduled of India are:

1. Assam:

- a) Dima Hasao Autonomous District Council
- b) Karbi Anglong Autonomous District Council
- c) Bodoland Territorial Council

2. Meghalaya:

- a) Kashi Hills Autonomous District Council
- b) Jaintia Hills Autonomous District Council
- c) Garo Hills Autonomous District Council

3. Mizoram:

- a) Chakma Autonomous District Council
- b) Lai Autonomous District Council
- c) Mara Autonomous District Council

4. Tripura:

a) Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council

The creation of Bodoland Territorial Council under the modified form of Sixth Scheduled was the outcome of MOS (2003) signed by three parties- GOI, Government of Assam and Bodo Liberation Tigers on 10 February, 2003. It has four districts of Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri covering an area of 8822 sq. km which is 11% of Assam land area. 46 Members of Legislative Council has been formed to look after the development works in BTC of which 6 members are nominated by the Governor of Assam from the unrepresented communities. The BTC has altogether 40 subjects entrusted for all round development of the region.